PTWWW-Nonet: Flirt

she sways, breathing her life into me

to and fro, she inflames passion

heart racing, my breath deepens

I reach for her, wanting

she dances away

smiling, teasing

laughing eyes

little

minx

My attempt at a Nonet poem for Paint The World With WordsPoetic Form of the Week. This is a simple format, but difficult in the execution. After several false starts, I used a random word generator to come up with a subject for the poem. Fortunately, that word ended up being “minx” which helped focus my thoughts!

The nonet consists of nine lines that break down like so:

line 1 – 9 syllables

line 2 – 8 syllables

line 3 – 7 syllables

line 4 – 6 syllables

line 5 – 5 syllables

line 6 – 4 syllables

line 7 – 3 syllables

line 8 – 2 syllables

line 9 – 1 syllable

Hope you enjoy my attempt. Head on over to PTWWW and check out other’s poems. Feel free to add your own!

Happy Reading and Writing!

J. Milburn

 

12 thoughts on “PTWWW-Nonet: Flirt

  1. I love this 🙂 thank you got sharing the backstory too, cheers!

  2. Tried one of these a few months. I need to try another one. Hadn’t thought about the random generator.

    DJ
    http://msudlj.com/2013/09/23/non-sequitur-nonet/

  3. Very good job especially with having to fit a form. Very creative way to come up with a writing idea. 🙂

    • Thanks! I’m just glad it didn’t come up with something like “decapitate” or something like that. I might have had to join AnElephant in stacking the body count (although I do notice mine is getting higher 😉 ).

      • I don’t think AnElephant would use that word. He is good at hiding the bloodshed until the reveal.
        I will say my body count is rising but I kill nicely. 🙂

  4. The forms that seem easy at first glance often deceive us. Haiku is hard enough with three lines of counting syllables 🙂

  5. I love this and continue to be so appreciative to you for all the various forms you try, especially since you give such great explanations of what they are. It inspires me to try things outside of my box. Thanks 🙂

  6. Thanks for pinging in to the challenge! I have this challenge every week on poetic forms I share on Monday. So now talking on this topic, your poem is really amazing! You have done an awesome job of depicting the thought or topic “flirt”, really good to show this entire moment in such a small form – nonet. Brilliant! And yes, thank you for your participation and keep writing!

    Regards

  7. […] PTWWW-Nonet: Flirt (jeremymilburn.wordpress.com) […]

I Love Hearing From You. Drop Me A Line!