FFfAW: Infinity

photo by Joy Pixley

“Come, follow me,” she breathed.

“All the way up?” A pain shot through my neck as I craned it back to look at forever.

“Of course. Where else?” She laughed and her dark hair flew behind her as she raced up the steps two at a time.

I tried to keep up, but she kept getting farther and farther away. My legs turned to lead and I leaned against the banister, gasping for breath. “Wait for me! I can’t make it!”

Her voice echoed down, tinged with sadness. “It’s okay. I thought maybe we could go together, but now I know it isn’t allowed.”

“When will I see you again?” I cried out.

Her full-throated laugh floated to my ears. “When it’s your time, love. And I’ll be here waiting to see you at the top. Now go.”

I trudged back down the stairs, my heart heavy and eyes wet.

Word Count: 150

Written for Priceless Joy’s Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers prompt. For more stories by talented writers click the blue frog button.

9 thoughts on “FFfAW: Infinity

  1. Wonderful story! It wasn’t his/her time to go into forever. Love it! Welcome to the FFfAW challenge! We are happy you have joined us! Loved your story!

  2. Interesting way to use the prompt. There’s a sadness but I wonder if there was more to a stairway to heaven thing

  3. Excellent tale, touching and with a bit of mystery and action. Well done.

  4. Your story certainly has a touch of mystery and I, too, see the story as a sad one. The fact that it isn’t his time ‘to go’ suggests the final parting – at least, in this life. Very well written.

  5. michael1148humphris

    This is a fine piece of writing, I will look forward to seeing more posts from your pen. Mike

I Love Hearing From You. Drop Me A Line!

