Daily Prompt: A Generous Spirit

“Mind if I sit here?”

I looked up from my ham sandwich and chips to see a pretty brown-haired girl with sparkling blue eyes, and a smile that seemed impossibly wide and bright. I sat stunned anyone would talk to me, much less sit by me, so I didn’t answer other than to nod.

She set her tray down across from me and stuck out her hand. “I’m Jen. And you are?”

I took her hand slowly, wandering if this was some haze the new guy trick. “John.”

“Nice to meet you, John. Just moved here, huh?”

I glanced around the lunchroom, seeing others throw stares and whispers. I frowned and turned back to her. “Is this some kind of trick?”

She looked surprised and hurt. “What are you talking about?”

I gestured toward my body, tall, overweight and unattractive. “Pretty girls just don’t talk to guys like me.”

She grinned. “You think I’m pretty?”

“Uh…”

She swung her hand in a grand gesture which encompassed the entire room. “Look, I grew up here and know all these people already. I love meeting new people and getting to know them. I’m not trying to trick you or anything, I just like making new friends.”

I could feel my face flush. “Sorry,” I mumbled.

“It’s fine. I can understand if you want to be alone.” She grabbed her tray and made to leave.

“No. Wait!” I gestured to her seat. “Please. I…I don’t have any friends here. I would like it if you stayed and talked.”

She smiled at me and I felt my face respond. She sat back down and grabbed her milk. “Okay, but you’re wrong you know.”

“What?”

“You’re wrong. You have at least one friend here.”

***

10 years later

“Mind if I sit here?”

I stand beside a new hire sitting in the break room by herself while everyone else chats with people they’ve known for years. She nods her head and I plop down in the seat across from her. I can see the confusion and suspicion on her face as I stick out my hand. “Hi. I’m John and I like to meet new people.”

_________________________________________________________________

My contribution for the WordPress Daily Prompt. The one-word prompt for the day was Generous. I have had the good fortune to meet many generous people this past year as I go through nursing school and I’m proud to call them friends.

via Daily Prompt: Generous

I Love Hearing From You. Drop Me A Line!