Haibun Thinking: Love’s Wrath

Gathering her brows like gathering storm, Nursing her wrath to keep it warm
Robert Burns

Fire propels her hand to a blur. The rasp of metal against stone, the technique taught to her by a once-love, fills the yawning maw of blackness inside with its star-sparks. She caresses her cold companion; so unlike flesh in its rigidity and focus of purpose.

In its faithfulness.

Trembling fingers slip. Crimson blossoms in a slow fury. The empty pillow next to her falls victim to sharp rage. Practice for when he stumbles in from his “business” meeting later.

tip of blade glistens
careless hands destroy two lives-
love’s flame fanned to rage
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

For Haibun Thinking. This week’s prompts are the quote from a Robert Burns poem, as well as a photo prompt you can find on the challenge site. The quote stirred feelings of betrayal and vengeance, so my haibun reflects that. Head on over and join in with your own haibun.

Hope you enjoy.

Happy Reading and Writing!

J. Milburn

 

11 thoughts on “Haibun Thinking: Love’s Wrath

  1. Wow Jeremy, powerful haibun, excellent haiku so very well done. Fabulous work. Welcome to week two.

  2. Love that. A woman scorned to its max Great Haibun Jeremy

  3. Absolutely love the halibun and the haiku I think is one of your best. 🙂

  4. You do have a way with words my friend. Awesome!

    DJ

  5. Wow, she’s got it planned out. “Love’s flame fanned to rage” sums it up perfectly!

  6. I remember once …allowing a former beau to think another had gifted me with a ring (one that I’d actually found) – just to make the break up easier. No blade visible blade. Funny though how I’d found out latter that he ended up going back to the one he first loved. Which wasn’t me…

    I guess though at the time there was enough fire from my eyes that was enough to have the poor man back up so he would not get too burnt. That’s the memory your piece evoked. 🙂

I Love Hearing From You. Drop Me A Line!