PTWWW & New To Me Poetry: Epigrams

For the Paint The World With Words “Be Inspired Challenge” this week, we are playing with Epigrams. An Epigram is defined as, “a pithy saying or remark expressing an idea in a clever and amusing way.”

My epigram came from wondering what the hell I was going to write for an epigram:

In the recess of thought, great words sit;
awaiting the writer to unleash their wit.
They lay in silence and pique’d fit;
for most, including me, aren’t up to it.
Β 

I also decided to try my hand at some other epigrams:

Faith is a five-year-old’s belief in parents perfection. Wisdom is the realization they are not.

I love movies. They divorce people from reality, who in turn divorce each other because their reality is not a movie.Β 

Writers strive to reveal society’s troubles. Society obliges by giving them so much to write about.

Zeal is great…until it crosses to zealotry. Then, not so much.

Hope you enjoy.

Happy Reading and Writing!

25 thoughts on “PTWWW & New To Me Poetry: Epigrams

  1. You did great!!!

  2. You did a great epigram! I liked your Oscar Wilde witticisms, too!

  3. Wonderful! J., your posts are a delight to read indeed and these attempts are indeed witty, sharp and they said such witty messages in a precise way. Your poems always hit home for me! Thanks for your participation! These poems rock!

    πŸ™‚

  4. I had just become familiar with epigrams this week after studying T. S. Eliot. His style is usually somber, and his epigrams eerie.

  5. If guilt is what motivates you to keep writing stuff like this, then bring on the guilt πŸ˜‰ Seriously, though, I’m with Anja…cannot wrap my brain around this challenge; you did a GREAT job!! I especially love the poem.

  6. I don’t think my brain could’ve come up with something in this form. I did like the one about movies an divorce. There is truth to that…

    • I wondered and wondered what to write. I found a few examples of epigrams about epigrams, and decided to go that route πŸ˜€ I didn’t know some sentences were considered epigrams until I researched it a bit.

  7. Loved your work. Truly amazing!

  8. Great job! I particularly loved the epigram about movies, spot on!

I Love Hearing From You. Drop Me A Line!

