Haibun Thinking: Precious Time

“Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.”

– Ferris Bueller’s Day Off

Pictures of moments slide through in flashes. Tiny feet taking the first stumbling steps toward embrace. Toward freedom. “Daddy, Daddy, I did it!” Those first wobbly pedals as I let you go, finding the balance necessary to stay up on your own. “Daddy, Daddy, I did it!” The day you came home with your driver’s license, all smiles as you show off a horrible DMV photo. “I did it, Dad.” Sitting as I watch you cross the stage for your diploma, waving at your mother and finding your friends to celebrate. “Later, Dad.”

I remember those moments so clearly, but as I watch you descend into the ground, all the moments in between blur and twist. “I’m tired right now.” “Not now, I’m busy.” “We’ll play/watch/do something later.”

Later came, and I was too late. I thought we’d have more time, but the truth hits me: There’s never more time, only now.

“I’m sorry, son. I didn’t do it.”

When the Earth reclaims,
memories are what we hold
loss of precious time

There’s a new challenge for you haibun writers out there: Haibun Thinking. There are two prompts to choose from. One is the quote above. The other is this photo:

Ranger and Monty © Kathryn Forbes 2013

Ranger and Monty © Kathryn Forbes 2013

Head on over and check out the challenge. The people hosting it are great and I’m sure you’ll enjoy.

J. Milburn

24 thoughts on “Haibun Thinking: Precious Time

  1. A necessary reality check. Challenging the mind, encouraging the senses. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Thanks for participating Jeremy and you have a written a powerful haibun, very pertinent message as well. I am so reminded of Harry Chapin’s Cats in the Cradle as I read your haibun. How often is it in life we wish we could have spent just that bit more with the people who are most precious to us. Excellent writing Jeremy very well done.

    • Thank you so much! I admit, I didn’t start out with the song in mind, but as I wrote I recognized the influence. Which is why I switched up the ending a bit, so mine didn’t follow it exactly.

  3. I am with Summer. I thought of Cats in the cradle as well. Seeing it written like this is different to hearing it in a song. Here, it is so moving and powerful and moving. Well done Jeremy.

  4. And I thought you were worried about writing this……brilliant as always. Your haiku brought tears to my eyes.

  5. I very moving post. I too thought of the Cats in the Cradle. Thanks for sharing.

  6. While there may have been exceptions I think, I would like to hope that the ideology of ignorance of family belonged to older generations. Often fathers are blamed, but mothers fit the bill too.

    I played here:
    http://julesinflashyfiction.wordpress.com/2014/01/21/haibun-january-plays-whisper-down-the-lane/

  7. Heartbreakingly good 🙂

  8. A very powerful and emotive piece of writing that struck a chord with me. Really strong style. Well Played.

  9. You came into this haibun from a lively and interesting angle, bringing the reader in you, then slowly but surely to the sad fact that hits all. One can but agree, and so well-defined. Your haibun was an important reminder. The haiku at the end was superb.

  10. This is such a heart breaking story/poem!
    So well written!

I Love Hearing From You. Drop Me A Line!

