Flash! Friday: Justifiable

Tiger & Turtle, Duisburg, Germany. Public Domain photo by Chraecker.

Tiger & Turtle, Duisburg, Germany. Public Domain photo by Chraecker.

“I yelled, ‘Stop it, Jake!'”

“My little baby huddled like a turtle, trying to retreat into the wall as if it would envelop her in an impenetrable shell. The belt left welts like tiger-stripes down her arms and legs. I stepped in and yanked his arm back. He whirled and punched me.”

“Pain…I remember pain, but nothing after that.”

“So you don’t remember getting a gun and shooting your husband?” the detective asks.

“She just spilled some milk…that’s all. I…I…”

“Melinda? I need you to focus.”

“It’s always such a roller-coaster with him…Katie loves roller-coasters. Do you?”

“The M.E. says the wound entry is consistent with it being fired by someone your daughter’s height. Did she shoot Jake?”

“Katie? Where’s my baby?”

“She’s at the hospital, Melinda. She’s in shock and the doctors say she’s repressed the episode. Who shot Jake, Melinda?”

“I did. Detective? Never tell her otherwise. Please?”

Word Count: 150

For Flash! Friday-Vol 2 – 6. This week the prompt is the photo above. The “Dragon’s Bidding” for this week:

TigerTurtlePendant

 

 

 

 

I Love Hearing From You. Drop Me A Line!

