Trifextra #100: The First Time I Saw…

The first time I saw you, so small in my hand, I felt joy, fear, love. You have grown now. Where life will take you, I don’t know. Just know, for all my faults, I love you, son.

Word Count: 38

 

For Trifextra Week 100. This week:

We are asking for a 33-word response to the following snippet:

The first time I saw. . .

Here’s the catch: all of your 33 words must be one syllable each.  We’re going low-brow on your this week.  Or not.  Can you class it up under these restrictions?  Give us your best.

To clarify, we are giving you 5 words.  We want another 33 from you, for a grand total of 38.

Head over to Trifecta and check out the other responses to the prompt. Feel free to join in!

Hope you enjoy.

Happy Reading and Writing!

J. Milburn

 

 

 

 

26 thoughts on “Trifextra #100: The First Time I Saw…

  1. Great job! The one syllable catch is tricky….you followed it amazingly well. Nostalgic, sweet post too.

    • Thanks, C.C.! It is tricky…just before I published I took one last look and noticed a two syllable word. Lucky for me, it wasn’t integral to anything and I could cut it without worry.

  2. awwwww I absolutely love it

  3. Bravo! You nailed it and with such a sweet sentiments.

  4. This is so sweet! Joy, fear and love – I felt that, too (especially fear 🙂 )

  5. Aww this is so sweet and simple and lovely ❤ The best Father-Son Relationship.

  6. Beautiful and very touching.

  7. KymmInBarcelona

    Sweet! There are so many different emotions in this short piece.

  8. Nothing like holding your child that very first moment they were born. It is definitely a mind-blowing, life-altering moment! Like you, I, too, wonder how life will be for my two young girls and fervently hope that they will marry well and find happiness and will lead purposeful lives. But, as you said, no matter what, I hope they will always realize how deep the well of my Love runs and that they are always free to draw from it as needed. 🙂

  9. Great work.

  10. The sentiment was captured well. Good job.

I Love Hearing From You. Drop Me A Line!

