Friday Fictioneers: Who Knows? Might Happen

Copyright-Dawn Q. Landau

 

“This small building, which has stood for centuries, was used by our ancestors as a place of worship.” The guide pointed to the dilapidated pinkish-red structure behind him. “We believe they made personal offerings to the many gods that held sway over humanity in those days.”

Theodosius hung back, waiting with his android companion, AC-Barbie, until the tour group moved down the beach. He grinned and nudged her synthetic flesh. “Go in there and check it out.”

“It’s off-limits, Theo!”

“So what? No one will know.”

She sighed, but did as commanded. “What do you see?” he called.

“Shit!”

***

I really shouldn’t have read that this photo from Dawn at Tales From the MotherlandΒ was a picture of a bathroom. Potty humor came to mind because I’m apparently an 8-year-old (that may be being generous) πŸ˜‰

Head over to Friday Fictioneers and read other writers take on the prompt in 100-words. Join in the fun with your own…I was going to say offering, but in this instance I think story will work better πŸ˜€

 

Happy Reading and Writing!

J. Milburn

 

 

28 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Who Knows? Might Happen

  1. Literally or figuratively? lol

  2. πŸ™‚ Nicely done.

  3. Oh, THAT kind of personal offering. Ew.

    Actually, I think you nailed it. In one of Dawn’s comments, she said it was a bathroom.

    • Yeah, I happened to read that before I wrote, trying to get some sense of what it was. Couldn’t resist making it a tour attraction with a made-up history completely at odds with its function πŸ˜€

  4. Once a temple, now a potty.
    Loved “AC-Barbie”, about time somebody connected her to a plug socket πŸ™‚

  5. Dear Jeremy,

    So I’m wondering if I can buy an AC-Ken? Well played. Tanks for a cute story.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  6. lol that last word was priceless πŸ™‚ you definitely nailed it

  7. Ah…. shit, quite literally, not just an expletive.

  8. Lol shit as in ‘shit’ or shit!!!!! ?? πŸ˜›

  9. Great fun – I liked that.

  10. You know, as I looked at that picture, I did keep thinking “outhouse.” But my other imagery was a prison cell, and I went with that. Glad I did. I could never have matched this with my “outhouse” story.

  11. Yea I’m glad I wrote mine before I knew what the building was. You did good. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you! When I first saw it, I pictured two guys keeping watch for an invasion by sea, the kicker being the only window faced the beach. Once I learned what it really was, a totally different direction popped in my head πŸ˜€

  12. Perhaps the android has learning she can add more words to her vocabulary.

  13. Whose shirt was it? Oh wait did I read that wrong?

  14. Loved it, Jeremy. I felt the same way about my story. Here I am, a 58 yr. old guy, writing about guys blowing themselves up with farts. Oh well, I may grow old, but I hope I never grow up.

I Love Hearing From You. Drop Me A Line!

