Carpe Diem #368 – Perm

City of Perm on the banks of the Kama River

tributaries meet
at fiery cocktail’s home
past and present join
 

For Carpe Diem #368 – Perm. We’re traveling along with Paulo Coelho in his novel Aleph, and our next stop is the city of Perm. Just a little background to help explain my haiku (for a deeper look, go over to Carpe Diem). Perm used to be named Molotov from 1940 to 1957, hence my second line. Perm sits on the bank of the Kama River, the main tributary for the Volga river, and is surrounded by a large amount of smaller rivers and brooks.

That explains the tributaries, but not fully. Kristjaan explains the “Aleph” moment as a “secret” place where we are in the past and the present at the same time. I pictured the rivers of time flowing and meeting in the ocean that is “us”. So tributaries works twice, at least in my mind, and informs the last line of the haiku.

Hope you enjoy.

Happy Reading and Writing!

J. Milburn

5 thoughts on “Carpe Diem #368 – Perm

  1. fiery cocktails? Need those in this cold weather. 🙂 Wonderful haiku

  2. magicalmysticalteacher

    I, for one, am glad that my past and my present don’t join! 😉

    On a Street in Perm

  3. Beautifully composed Jeremy. I agree that I also wouldn’t be glad if my past and present would become one, but on the other hand … I would love to have a possibility to look back in my very past.

I Love Hearing From You. Drop Me A Line!

