Chain Writing Game: Episode 20

chain story week 2

As the door swung open, a gunshot rang out and Dennis felt a kick in his abdomen. He clutched his stomach, his hands coated bright red when he pulled them away. He looked at Trixie, who stood there with a horrified look on her face. “Medicine…Helen…please,” he managed before he slumped to the ground.

Black-suited men burst out of the NSA building, pistols waving. Shouts chased the fading echo of the shot. “Shooter!”

“Get down!”

“Was that an AK-47?”

Trixie fell to her knees beside the man she had just met, searching for his wife’s life in his pockets.

Chain Writing game

I know, I know. But I figured Dennis needed some consequence for his actions. Besides, I shot him in the gut for a reason πŸ˜‰ Will he live? Will he die? Will Trixie get Helen the medicine in time or is the world doomed to war and a dystopian future the subject of Chain Writing Game 3: The Chaining? Did you remember the mysterious Ak-47 fire from earlier? I did, but now I’m done, so it is up to YOU to decide what happens next! Join in the fun by heading over to Writing For Life and participating in one of the most fun experiences I’ve had πŸ˜€

Happy Reading and Writing!

J. Milburn

 

 

25 thoughts on “Chain Writing Game: Episode 20

  1. All he wanted to do was find the love of his life and give her the medicine and he gets a belly full of lead. I hope he survives. Nice twist. I think from the beginning there is more to Trixie. I have to sit back a watch too as I am also finished.

    • I know, it all started out so simple. Then a hooker extorted him, he pulled a gun on her, kicked a Secret Service guy in the face, kidnapped Trixie, shot and ran over a guy (although that one had it coming), stole a motorcycle, evaded angry bikers and the police, and ventured to a secure installation full of classified material, all in roughly 2,000 words without a scratch. He was due πŸ˜€
      I’m still on the fence about Trixie. Unless someone explicitly says different, I’m treating her as someone caught up in events over her head and trying to make the best of it. Now to sit back and enjoy the mad scramble to the finish!

  2. Dang! Dennis is shot now?? How is this going to end??

    • I’m just the shooter in this case πŸ˜‰ I’m hoping he survives, but it’s no sure thing! I’m wondering who the mysterious shooters with Ak-47’s are? Chinese secret agents out to make sure Dennis doesn’t save Helen so she thwarts their nefarious plans? Or some other faction we haven’t seen yet? Only 1,000 words until all (hopefully) is revealed πŸ˜€

  3. Why are you always shooting someone? Geeze you do keep the story going.

  4. Hooray, the AK47 crew is back! I wanted them to join the chase earlier but ran out of words πŸ™‚
    Great last sentence.

  5. Nice J! I’m the one who brought in the Ak-47’s. Your thinking about Trixie may come true. Who knows. I’ve got one bullet left. The way things are going I better use it quick.

    DJ

  6. Fantastic. I wondered if he was going to get away scot-free.

    • With everything he’s done, I wasn’t going to let him. If Maryann hadn’t beat me in I would have had one of the bikers shoot him πŸ˜‰ But I liked the way it turned out since I got bring back in our mystery AK-47 guys Danny introduced πŸ˜€

  7. Oh, you mean, vicious, cruel writer! Great job! I’m glad that you separated the NSA guys from some unknown shooter. This makes a lot of sense. That’s probably a Chinese operative out there with a gun. I love the way you described, “his wife’s life in his pockets.” That’s a chilling description that only ratchets up the tension. Wow. Trixie is really in this deep so fast with people she hardly knows.

    • The Chinese shooter was my suspicion as well, although further writings on the story imply whomever he is, he had plastic surgery to look like Bruce Springsteen. The perfect cover! Yeah, Trixie treading some deep waters, but she keeps on keeping on. I’m glad I dragged her along for the ride πŸ˜€

      • I’m glad you dragged her in too. I’m liking her more now.

        The guy who wrote, “Born in the USA” would never be questioned would he? It’s the perfect cover. It would be interesting if The Boss showed up for real and gunned down his foreign duplicate. πŸ˜‰

      • Damnit! Now I wish I had another one just so I could make that happen πŸ˜‰ “I’m the one Born in the USA, Yippie-kay-yay!”

      • I still got one left. I’m holding on to it for the right moment. πŸ˜‰

  8. There has been surprisingly little gun play up until now, considering the agencies involved. Maybe the blood will run deep over the last ten or so episodes.

    • It is getting down to the nitty-gritty time for sure. And I didn’t think about it, but you’re right, especially with all the weapons waving around. Only three times has someone actually fired a shot. I almost didn’t count Jorge’s wound πŸ™‚

I Love Hearing From You. Drop Me A Line!

