Five Sentence Fiction: Moment of No Return

moments1

The bitterness of my hate coats my tongue, thick and raw. The jibes and jabs of your childish cruelty bruise my flesh, while the slings and arrows of your ignorance pierce my being. I’m just a burden of your stupidity; you were never my family. I’m better off without you, and I don’t care if you’re better off or not.

BANG!

***

Lillie McFerrin Writes

For Lillie McFerrin’s Five Sentence Fiction-Moments. If only the moments implied by the photo could last a lifetime, and not be twisted and warped over life’s time for too many of those unlucky enough to be trapped within a hell  both of and not of their creation.

May you all find peace in the New Year and beyond.

J. Milburn

15 thoughts on “Five Sentence Fiction: Moment of No Return

  1. This is dark. Hints of depressed anger.

  2. […] came upon this prompt thanks to Writing to be Noticed…it’s an interesting […]

  3. I’ve been angry enough at certain individuals to have reactionary moments like this-inside my head. There is so much emotion packed into this piece Jeremy. Not an easy thing to do, and to make it sound believable too-but you did it. Well done!!

  4. I don’t know what to think with this one. Our society seems to be filled with anger. Parents killing children, children killing parents. It’s sad, really.

  5. This is something that happens way too often. A tragic end to a life of someone with no consideration for their fellow man or woman.

    • I agree. Sometimes I think everyone gets wrapped up in something bad and wonders if it will ever end. Most get through it, or realize time will inevitably change whatever it is that is wrong, but others get trapped in that moment and take extreme measures. I wish that didn’t happen.

  6. I love your vivid descriptions of fierce anger and the consequences at the end. Really, really good stuff. x

    http://40somethingundomesticateddevil.blogspot.co.uk/2014/01/moments-5-sentence-fiction.html

  7. Excellent title for that one!

  8. Loved this, the ambiguity of the last line really got me. Slammed door, car, gunshot….

I Love Hearing From You. Drop Me A Line!

