Postcard Shorts: Wish You Were Here

Newcastle Beach

Newcastle Beach (Photo credit: State Records NSW)

My toes dig into the sand, waves crashing against my shins. Down the beach, a couple gambol gaily, their cares, for a moment, distant relatives rarely seen.

It reminds me of us, lo those many years ago. Your smile swept me away like a riptide, your laugh lifting my soul until it soared with the angels.

Why did we have to get older? Time, Nature’s cruel joke upon man, wore us down. Now I’m a broken shell of the man I once knew, and you…

You left me.

The days intrude on my psyche, a painful canker constantly reminding me of my aloneness. Waking, once a joy, became a chore to put off as long as possible.

My feet trudge farther into the surf, water lapping my waist. The cold seeps into my soul, causing trembles that once only occurred at your touch.

Why, God? Why did you take her away from me? For whatever sins I may have committed, I’m sorry.

The sea covers me completely, and your last words echo in the tranquility of Poseidon’s realm. “I’m in love with someone else. Someone who appreciates me. Goodbye.”

Oh, how I wish you were here.

Drowning in misery, instead of me.

***

Submitted to Postcard Shorts, a flash fiction site looking for original material of 250 words or less. Head on over and check it out! Submit your own to reach a new audience.

Hope you enjoy.

Happy Reading and Writing!

J. Milburn

7 thoughts on “Postcard Shorts: Wish You Were Here

  1. So powerful. This really resonates. And the last 2 lines sent shivers down my spine. Excellent job ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. How heartbreaking but written so beautifully!!!

    • Thanks, Anja! The postcard I used had a picture of a beach with high waves. I think I’ve established I see melancholy where others might see idyllic ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • What is this post card prompt thingy? Love my big words like ‘thingy’, paid $5 for it.

      • And a bargain it was at that price ๐Ÿ˜‰ I linked to the site in the post. I don’t know if you have to use the picture on the postcard they provide, but I did. It’s just a site for flash fiction. I actually typed the story there then transferred it here. They have a character counter that tells you how far along you are and equals 250 words. I just used it as a way to (possibly) reach a new audience.

      • Sounds interesting. May try it. Thank you

I Love Hearing From You. Drop Me A Line!

