Troiku: Homecoming

Okay, I’ve been meaning to give Kristjaan Panneman’s, from Carpe Diem Haiku Kai, form, Troiku, a try. Hope I do it justice. For inspiration I chose to use a haiku I’ve already written, but to a different piece of music by Adrian von Ziegler titled “Even In Death.”

Beautiful ghosts waltz

Spectral hands beckoning me     

My loves call me home

                                                                                                                                                                                                         Beautiful ghosts waltz
Moonlight dappling through mist
Fae dance of delight

                                                                                                                                                          Spectral hands beckoning me
Drop my weary cares
to live free among the trees

                                                                                                                                                                                                          My loves call me home
Lost heart fades at their calling
Cry joy at the light

So the idea behind a Troiku is to take a haiku as a base, or “sleigh”, and use the each of the lines for an extension haiku, or “horse”. If the format is done correctly (which WordPress is really against apparently…if it’s possible I can’t figure it out. Help would be appreciated :D), then the poems resemble three horses pulling a sleigh.

Head over to Carpe Diem and check out the proper form from the creator himself!

Hope you enjoy.

Happy Reading and Writing!

J. Milburn

 

 

I Love Hearing From You. Drop Me A Line!

