Velvet Verbosity 100 Words #359 – Catapult: There’s More Than One

“You’re an idiot.”

Harold cranked the windlass, lowering the cross-bar. “I’ve calculated the power and distance capable by this catapult correctly.”

Jerry squinted at the high fall air bag wavering in the distance. “I still don’t think you should try this.”

Harold climbed on the flat end of the lowered bar. “Just be ready to release when I tell you.”

“Ready?” Jerry nodded. “Fire!”

Jerry pushed the bar, the stored tension snapping the crossbar upward. Harold flew through the air, screaming until hitting the ground in front of the safety bag.

“You studied trebuchets, but this is an onager, idiot.”

my-little-princess-01

photo found: tvfantasy.net

For Velvet Verbosity’s 100 Words #359: Catapult. I went the obvious route with a little bit of humor. Hope you enjoy.

Join in the fun with your own 100 word story using the prompt word!

Happy Reading and Writing!

J. Milburn

 

8 thoughts on “Velvet Verbosity 100 Words #359 – Catapult: There’s More Than One

  1. haha perfect story for the picture…which is hilarious to me for some reason.

    • Thanks! I read some of the other entries and they were great, but they all used the word in the way of evoking memories or feelings. I decided on a more literal approach (I’m a medieval junkie, couldn’t resist πŸ˜‰ ).

      • I love medieval but would not get the language correct. I am more about emotions and “feel” if that era. When I do prompts, I avoid reading others until I am done. Well…I will read yours if we do the same one.

      • I generally read some to see if anyone is exploring the same idea I am, if they are I try a different direction. Plus seeing other responses helps spark my imagination if I’m feeling a bit stuck. Other times I’ve either forgotten or haven’t heard of the challenge and I find them in my reader πŸ™‚ And then sometimes I follow a woman named Anja around to various challenges after bombing her reader 19 times πŸ˜‰

      • Oh that Anja…always causing problems.
        I laughed so hard that day. I kept scrolling like, “okay, I will read it!!!”. There was no other post that was even doubled.
        If I know a challenge I am doing is about to send out prompt, I will only read the site and get the information. My mind absorbs too much and I try not to be influenced. Then again, your haiku last night influenced mine.
        I think I am talking in circles ha

  2. That’s insane. I’m not familiar with the terminology, but the miscalculation is funny πŸ™‚

    • Yeah, I probably should have linked the names, but they are two completely different types of catapult πŸ™‚ Must have been a flashback to “America’s Funniest Home Videos” or as I like to call it “Dad took a ball to the *bleep* again” πŸ˜‰

I Love Hearing From You. Drop Me A Line!

