Five Sentence Fiction – Silver: Rivalry

The ring of hammers joined with roaring flames, sweat-stench, shame-taste, and godly ugliness in an assault on the senses. “Do you have my bow, dear brother?” Artemis asked the twisted Olympian served by Titan-spawn.

The Lame God lifted a bow of the purest silver, tossing it at his father’s most beloved child, and frowning as she squealed and ran off with nary a word of thanks. The Cyclopes, Brontes, said, “I had my doubts about cursing her bow to strike down her one love, but no longer, my lord.”

Hephaestus’ lips curved upwards as he  dragged his club-foot over to work on Hera’s new throne.

Lillie McFerrin Writes

For Lillie McFerrin’s Five Sentence Fiction prompt: Silver.

So, my first thought when I saw silver was about silver mines, and as I researched a little I found some interesting ideas. Doc Holliday shooting Billy Allen in Leadville, Colorado, site of Colorado’s silver boom, in 1883 piqued my interest, but I couldn’t fit what I wanted in five sentences. I moved on to the union strike of 1893 and the riots at the Coronado mine, where five men died and the mine burned due to dynamite explosions. Again, couldn’t fit what I wanted.

Frustrated in my efforts for a western style offering (I know, Lone Ranger, Heigh-ho, Silver…not going there), my mind turned to other legends regarding silver, and I flashed to my childhood love of Greek Mythology and Artemis, Maid of the Silver Bow. Ooh!

Zeus doted on her. Yes. Apollo tricked her into killing Orion. Warmer, but it still lacked.

Okay, what if it really wasn’t Apollo’s fault that Artemis killed Orion? Who’s fault could it be? How about the child Zeus threw off of Olympus? The one that ended up ugly and lame as a result? Bingo!

Hephaestus working on Hera’s throne is a nod to the legend that he created a throne for her, and once she sat in it she became trapped. Dionysus tricked Hephaestus into becoming intoxicated, carrying him to Olympus on the back of a mule. To free Hera, Zeus gave Aphrodite to Hephaestus as a bride. The episode also caused Zeus to raise Dionysus to godhood among the Olympians.

If you made it through all that explanation…thank you for reading and I hope you enjoy.

Head on over to Lillie McFerrin Writes and join in the fun! I swear you don’t have to make it as difficult as I did 😉

Happy Reading and Writing!

J. Milburn

5 thoughts on “Five Sentence Fiction – Silver: Rivalry

  1. Your explanation was longer than the piece but I enjoyed both!!!!

    • Thanks! I know, I usually just let my stuff stand on its own, but this time I decided to go a little bit into the thought process and letting readers know some of the back-story. And now my reply is probably longer than my story 😉 But that’s because I love “talking” to you 😀

      • ha..it wasn’t more than 5 sentences so you are safe. Needed the laugh, though. I love “talking” to you as well. lol

  2. I enjoyed the story, and the inspiration behind it. Thank you for both.
    http://mcguffysreader.blogspot.com/2013/12/christmas-guest.html

I Love Hearing From You. Drop Me A Line!

