Carpe Diem Sweet Memories: My Boys

gorgeous newborn baby sleeping

son slumbers on chest

lips pursing in tiny dreams

peace flows from new life

***

This haiku is inspired by both of my boys. Some of my favorite memories come from each of them laying down on my chest and falling asleep as babies. They’re so small and soft, full of potential and innocence. As they grow, they can sometimes frustrate and annoy, but I go back to that time. I miss those days.

For Carpe Diem’s Sweet Memories haiku. Head over to Carpe Diem and check it out.

Hope you enjoy.

Happy Reading and Writing!

J. Milburn

 

9 thoughts on “Carpe Diem Sweet Memories: My Boys

  1. They grow so quickly…my baby is about to turn 18 and oldest is 19. I work with 5 year olds and it drives me crazy when parents do not give them enough time. I would love to go back and have all of their attention once more.
    Beautiful haiku 🙂

    • Thank you! My littlest is five, and his mother gets most of his attention when she’s home. I learned long ago to just accept it, even though I still feel a twinge of jealousy when he falls asleep on her while in the recliner 😉 I, of course, get to sling him over my shoulder and carry him to bed.

      • hahaha My children (well teens) have always been closest to me. Then again, their dad is a Marine and wasn’t home a lot. My son is up in New York with his dad now. Why do they grow so quickly….

  2. You’re killing me with these recent posts reminiscing about little babies. Such sweet memories, but they all grew up way too quickly. I have three boys. Boys are the best 🙂 You captured this sweet memory, one of my favorites too, so beautifully in this poem.

  3. This brings back memories. I have several photos of my husband napping on the couch with a sleeping baby on his chest. Something so sweet about that!

  4. I can relate to this a lot, I have only sweet memories of the time my children (I have four) were little and now I see so much in my grandchildren (I have six of them and number seven is coming soon).

I Love Hearing From You. Drop Me A Line!

