Carpe Diem’s Little Ones-Cinquain: Down

Renting  80-400 Pike PLace Mkt 0130

Renting 80-400 Pike PLace Mkt 0130 (Photo credit: Steve Schwartz)

Despair
Vicious, cruel
Ripping, rending, hating
Unyielding to your hope
Darkness

My first attempt at a cinquain poem for Carpe Diem. I found a quick and easy to understand primer on the different forms here. Head over to  Carpe Diem and check out other examples, and join in if the muse strikes you.

Hope you enjoy.

Happy Reading and Writing!

J. Milburn

21 thoughts on “Carpe Diem’s Little Ones-Cinquain: Down

  1. Ah — you followed the recipe… nice result….

  2. Wonderful…you keep stepping out and I just might join you 🙂

  3. Experimenting is a great way of getting outside the box. It’s already beautiful this time!

    Hank

  4. You are really trying so many forms….I applaud that. I would have to look up this form to know what it is about. lol

    • Thanks! I had to look it up myself. While Carpe Diem had a primer, I found a different site that broke down the three cinquain forms with a few examples. I linked to it in the post if you’re feeling adventurous 😉

      • Ahhhhh If you could see me, I really did cringe. lol I typically run from things with rules, counts and all of that. I have always been that way. I am not sure I could pull it off.

      • I admit, it took me a bit before I came up with what I wanted. At first I tried to wing it, but once I, as Bjorn put it, “followed the recipe” it became a lot easier 😉 I’m sure you pull it off just fine (read: better than me!).

      • If you could see how I think…I TRY so hard to read formulas but my mind drifts. I will go see what this recipe is….and doubt it would be better than yours. lol

  5. […] first attempt writing for Carpe Diem I was forced (okay it was nicely suggested) by Jeremy to do this piece. I am not good at following rules but I tried my best at this prompt. Be kind if […]

  6. Thanks for sharing the link to the easy-to-understand recipe. You are a treasure trove of fantastic ideas and inspirational creativity 🙂

    • Thank you! I’m a visual type, so stumbling across that link really helped me sort out the form. Your comment made me blush, for I rarely receive such effusive praise from someone who I consider to be a very talented writer 🙂

  7. Welcome at Carpe Diem Jeremy and with a wonderfully composed cinquain. Very nicely done and as Bjorn already said … ”you’ve found the right recipe”. By the way, I am your host at Carpe Diem and I hope to see you here again.

  8. Perfectly done, Jeremy. A fine first try! 🙂

  9. It’s my pleasure and I hope to see you again … I think you will be a great haiku-family member …

  10. Hi Jeremy,so glad to see you here :-)Bjorn introduced me to this lovely site some time back and I have been hooked since then ,

    This form is new to me too but I tried.Your cinquain really stands out-I loved the rhythm and the strength of this cinquain:-) Wish I had come here first -your “recipe” would have possibly made it easier for me,lol!

  11. […] first attempt writing for Carpe Diem I was forced (okay it was nicely suggested) by Jeremy to do this piece. I am not good at following rules but I tried my best at this prompt. Be kind if […]

I Love Hearing From You. Drop Me A Line!

