dVerse Open Link Night #126: Friend and Foe

the chill bites

clawing, rending

weather is easy

reality is hard

 

she waves, laughing

old foe

necessity’s reward

temptress of great and meek

 

despise her

curse her hold

she cares not

for she knows

 

greedy hands grasp

dirty hands beg

little hands whine

all for her

 

she flits through all

disappearing when needed

appearing unexpectedly

we strive for her touch

 

at life’s end

she refuses to come

instead, moves on

to our future

 

she whispers false truths

of love, acceptance

excuse me

I have to get paid

 

This is for dVerse Open Link. I am not a poet, so I will leave it to my readers to judge the merits of my work (which I do with everything else, although with that I have some small clue 😉 ). This time of year, while generally happy and filled with family for most, can also be marred by the rampant consumerism and the substitute of material goods for actual emotion. No judgement, just observation, for I am just as guilty as anyone and more guilty than some.

Head on over to dVerse and read some great poets. Create one and join in!

Hope you enjoy and reminisce with the O’Jays!

Happy Reading and Writing!

J. Milburn

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “dVerse Open Link Night #126: Friend and Foe

  1. Of course you are a poet, you just didn’t know it….yeah, I said it.
    I think you very good. I need to think on my d’verse contribution while at crossfit tonight. Hmmm

  2. it is a very consumer driven time of year…sadly…so many things we dont really need to prove our love…or fill a gap, a hole in ourselves….weather at least we expect to be, reality, not always…

  3. I very much enjoyed this piece. Who says you’re not a poet? Love the O’Jays!

    • It took me quite a bit of time to figure out who sang that song because all I could remember was the chorus, then it was face-palm moment 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed it and thanks for reading!

  4. Oh, that is poetry, friend…and rather hauntingly done.

  5. Or should I have said convictingly done? Anyway love that song, too- brings me back!

  6. My sound is broken. Do I have to listen to the music to know the poem?
    Well so, I don’t know what to think about the meaning. But you do have a poem . . . because you had something to say. It is all that is required.
    Cheers!

  7. What do you mean you’re not a poet this is wonderful!

I Love Hearing From You. Drop Me A Line!

