DP Challenge: Haiku 3-Sunflower

Sunflower strong, tall

Head facing East, soon to go

Loneliness descends

***

DP Challenge

If you’ve been following along…well, thank you! You may have also noticed I’m trying to hit each season, with a maddening lack of explanation behind my haiku. There is a reason for that, and no, it really isn’t because I’m a jerk. Well…

I’ll leave that to you to decide. Criticism, as always, is more than welcome. Let me know what you liked and what you didn’t. That goes for any of my work on the blog (I’m really hoping you’ll browse around a little-my tagline does say “a little shameless self-promotion 😉 ).

Hope you enjoy.

Happy Reading and Writing!

J. Milburn

10 thoughts on “DP Challenge: Haiku 3-Sunflower

  1. Haha….I’m glad the lack of info probably isn’t because you’re a jerk 🙂 I get where you come from on that. It’s actually interesting to see what people make of it without leading them down the path of what our mind intended.

    With this one, I’m seeing fall. The sunflower soaking up the sun until the loneliness of winter descends.

  2. […] DP Challenge: Haiku 3-Sunflower | Writing To Be Noticed […]

  3. […] DP Challenge: Haiku 3-Sunflower | Writing To Be Noticed […]

  4. […] DP Challenge: Haiku 3-Sunflower | Writing To Be Noticed […]

  5. […] DP Challenge: Haiku 3-Sunflower | Writing To Be Noticed […]

  6. […] DP Challenge: Haiku 3-Sunflower | Writing To Be Noticed […]

  7. […] DP Challenge: Haiku 3-Sunflower | Writing To Be Noticed […]

  8. […] DP Challenge: Haiku 3-Sunflower | Writing To Be Noticed […]

  9. […] Day 3- I swear, the next one is one, two-line description max. So “sunflower”= kigo, but the “sun” part also serves as a homophone for son. “Flower” as a verb has the meaning of development. So the son develops as the line says, and he’s facing East. This takes place in late summer (respect the kigo), after the son has grown and makes ready to leave home soon. The last line becomes self-explanatory. […]

  10. […] DP Challenge: Haiku 3-Sunflower | Writing To Be Noticed […]

I Love Hearing From You. Drop Me A Line!

