Friday Fictioneers: Improptu Polar Bear Club

Copyright - Ted Strutz

“I’m going to do it.”

Sara rolled her eyes. “Dan, you’re drunk and the water is freezing. You’re going to drown.”

Dan stripped off his shirt and pants, swinging his arms back and forth to loosen up. “I’m a champion swimmer, baby.”

She sighed. “Twenty years ago, in a pool that wouldn’t give you hypo-”

“Woo-hoo!” He splashed in the water. “Holy…! IT’S FREEZING!”

Klaxons went off on the riverboat. “Man Overboard,” repeated over the loudspeakers.

“MORON!” Sara yelled. “I’m not bailing you out.”

She turned from the railing. “Enjoy the shrunken testicles, idiot.”

” I need a drink,” she muttered.

Word Count: 100

Friday Fictioneers! The photo this week is provided by Ted Strutz over at TedBook, go check out his site. There’s some good reading over there! And thanks to Rochelle at Addicted To Purple for hosting our weekly get together, as always!

The challenge: Use 100 words to create a story based on the photo. It really is that simple and its open to everyone, so feel free to join in the fun.

Happy Reading and Writing!

J. Milburn

18 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Improptu Polar Bear Club

  1. Young and dum, I remember those times. lol

  2. hahahaha I am with her…walk away and go get a drink. Let him thaw….

  3. Dear JM,

    Of such leaps of stupidity are our lives seasoned with laughter and memories…if we live. Great story.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  4. Hahaha…I’d walk away, too. (Silly guy…it’s a painful lesson to learn you aren’t as invincible as you thought you were when you were young!)

  5. There’s always one in every crowd, providing endless entertainment with the occasional heart-stopping moment. You capture the essence of him (because it’s nearly always a him 🙂 ) well.

  6. Dear Jeremy,

    Some people just never learn. Like Sandra says, it’s almost always a him…wonder why. 😉 Good one.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  7. Funny story J , I enjoyed that especially the quip about the effects of cold water on the extremities! My wife is taking on the pier to pier swimming challenge on Bournemouth Beach on New Years Day this year but I have no intention of joining her and ending up like your character. 🙂

  8. I’d love to see that! Good one.

  9. The sobering and shrinking effects of cold water!

  10. At least he was full of anti- freeze!

  11. Very amusing story, some great lines in there! I can definitely see that happening.

  12. I like his spirit. Usually it takes a group of friends yelling “Do it! Do it!” for someone to do something this stupid. 🙂

  13. Indded.. that’s how men turn from big to small.. the title is great too.

  14. I like the light humor here, despite the potential disaster. I wondered at the end, who asked for a drink? If it was Sara, that line should be with the “moron” line. It left me wondering whether there was another character or just a line that was strangely places. I really enjoyed the fun dialogue and impulsive Dan.

  15. She’s put up with a lot, I suspect – I think I’d be heading for the bar too.

I Love Hearing From You. Drop Me A Line!

