Friday Fictioneers: Self-Destructive Tendencies

copyright -Janet Webb

They finally did it.

They. We finally did it, for I am just as guilty as the rest.

She died. Kicking, screaming, and vengeance upon her lips, but she died nonetheless.

Now we are paying for our sins. The ocean has risen, mocking our accomplishments, ripping our egos, and showing us exactly where we stand.

We stand at her mercy. Even with her murder, she exacts her justice.

Life, once so abundant and full, fades. I sit alone, my family taken as penance for my crimes.

The guilt sits heavy in my heart.

We killed Mother Nature.

We killed ourselves.

 

It is Friday Fictioneers time again! This week’s prompt is the picture that accompanies this story. Follow the link to read some great writers, and enter your own contribution. Happy reading and writing!

 

16 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Self-Destructive Tendencies

  1. Ouch – a little too close to reality, this! I enjoyed the way you approached this. Well done.

    • Thank you so much for reading and commenting! The picture just brought to mind cities sunken beneath the ocean, our coastal areas becoming the future’s Atlantis. Of course, that assumes we have a future, and my story really doesn’t assume that. I’m glad you enjoyed it!

  2. Yikes! I love how you use the photo prompt to tell such a gripping – yet extremely sad – story. They both hold a lot of melancholy and fitting for each other. Very well done.

  3. the second to the last line gave me chills. too real. well done 🙂

  4. Wow. Potent and taughtly written. Very nice. Kind of the same take as mine, only different. 🙂

  5. Dear Jeremy,

    This is certainly disturbing. Nice one.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  6. Dear Mr. Milburn,

    Your story is coming true. I’d say more, but what is the point?

    Aloha,

    Doug

  7. Mother Nature isn’t dead yet. She may be dying, but she’ll be fighting for a long time to come. She’ll likely take the lot of us before we take her out completely. Then maybe she’ll have time to heal before the next virus comes along to challenge her.

  8. It’s like you lowered the boom in the last two lines. I hate the reality of it, but I love it!

  9. Although I certainly agree that we’re destructive to the earth in many ways, I’m not really a global warming/climate change believer. Your story is well done, nonetheless.

    janet

  10. What a horrible thought; but one worth pondering. Good job.

  11. Excellent piece of writing with a serious message.

  12. This writig is probably all to true… though I think nature will survive and rid herself of humanity…

  13. Some days, the idea of all this overwhelms me. Other days, I just work very hard to avoid it. Good job making us all think.

I Love Hearing From You. Drop Me A Line!

