Trifextra Challenge 89: What is Evil?

“What is evil, Daddy?”

My mind flashes:

Families choking on gas

Mass graves

Towers falling

Women enslaved

Child soldiers

Rape

Genocide

The blind-eye turned

I kneel. “Honey, evil is…us. Fight it.”

“Love.”

Word Count: 33

This is for the Trifextra Week 89 challenge, hosted by the fine folks of Trifecta. There is a ton of great writing from various bloggers, so be sure to check it out.

The prompt this week:

Write 33 words based on the Rolling Stones song “Sympathy for the Devil”

14 thoughts on “Trifextra Challenge 89: What is Evil?

  1. This is simple but really good.

  2. […] Trifextra Challenge 89: What is Evil? (jeremymilburn.wordpress.com) […]

  3. Wow, this was great! Such a truthful answer to an innocent but complicated question.

  4. Love is our only defense. I like . . . no I love that! :d

  5. I am a school teacher. In our classroom, we begin each day with a piece of writing on chart paper that I call “The message of the day.” This message can be informational (about the upcoming events of the day), it can be motivational ( about how proud of was of them for something they did) or, it can be an original piece of writing (to model good writing so they can be good writers, too). Regardless of the content, I always use the style of a personal letter from me to them and, as such, I always end the message by saying, “Love, Mr. MacInnes.” When the year is still young, some of the kids will giggle when they get to the end and they will ask me why I sign the message, “Love, Mr. MacInnes”. I always reply that they will learn all sorts of things before the end of the school year comes but, the one thing they will learn above all else is that Love is the best word there is and I want them to hear it every single day we are together. Nothing is more important than Love. So, when read your post and saw how you ended your message, I smiled to myself. Nice message of the day, Brother! 🙂

    • Thank you so much! Your students are lucky to have a teacher that goes through the effort of letting them know they are cared about and loved every day. Thank you for what you do!

  6. Excellent prompt! And sadly so true!

  7. You nailed the true core of evil. Hopefully we can fight it well enough to eventually win.

  8. A frighteningly long list of evil deeds followed up so cleverly with a simple message of hope. Well done.

    • Thank you for reading and commenting! To be honest, that list barely scratches the surface, but hopefully we can fight all the evil and one day live in harmony. One day!

I Love Hearing From You. Drop Me A Line!

