Off To See The Wizard

Hey, everyone. I took a day after my last post. I needed to work some things out. I also needed to pack and make a few calls.

Now I’m on my way to Chicago.

On my way to see the Magus.

You see, I don’t believe for one second that the Magus gives one rusty flying nail about Lisa going missing. Not unless its tied in to some major mystical misbehaving. I need to know what I’m up against.

So I’m heading up I-55 at a sedate 70 mph. I’m not looking to get pulled over and I’m already past the effective time limit for finding missing persons. I could fly there in about an hour, but I prefer riding in bike mode. Plus, it gives me the chance to use some of the gear Jules gave me.

Like voice-controlled data entry, which can be used for real-time blogging.

Jules had given me a pair of modified amber-colored shooting glasses with a comm attachment for my birthday last year. She patched these into my bracer, so I don’t have to shout to input commands.

BECAUSE IF I DO IT ENDS UP LOOKING LIKE THIS! NOBODY WANTS THIS!

She also patched them into my blaster. Target distance, aiming reticles, time/date stamp, face-to-face comms with Julie and facial recognition software, all in one handy package.

I swear Jules is trying to turn me into a Machinist Lite.

I’m near Bloomington now. The night is clear and crisp, just like the forecast predicted.

So why am I seeing a rolling thunderhead coming my way? And why do I get the feeling this is going to suck?

Excuse me folks.

Activate targeting display, link to blaster sights. Shield on standby for verbal activation. Autopilot engage, evasive pattern Alpha.

Targeting display active. Autopilot engaged. PROXIMITY ALERT! 

What the heck? Four bikes out of nowhere. HEY, GET BACK!

Crud, cynocephali.

Blaster 100% charge. Lethal option engaged. Targeting. Shot fired. 98% power remaining.

One done. Others falling back. Diavel initiate maneuver MI:2.

WHOOOOAAAA!

Shot fired-9-Shot fired-Shot fired-92% power remaining.

TAKE THAT YOU DOG-HEADED FREAKS!

Damn, one of the bikes took out a Blazer. And of course panic turns people into reckle-

WHOA! Almost bit it there. Pay attention, D. The cloud in the sky…is that…

EMERGENCY TAKE-OFF! NOW! NOW! NOW!

Cynocephali I can almost buy as being random, but with a Draugr riding a nightmare? They have to be-

AWWW! HE’S GROWING! RISE! RISE!

Shot fire-Shot fi-Shot fired-86% power remaining.

Damn, blaster won’t cut it. Think, D.

Take the Night Mare first. Then swoop in for the Draugr.

I need altitude.

DIVE! DIVE! DIVE!

HA! EAT SUN-BLADE, SUCKER-DOG!

PROXIMITY ALERT! Careful, almost got swiped by a massive paw. And now he’s going after civilians…(words inaudible)

Let’s see how he likes looking right into the sun.

PROXIMITY ALERT! PROXIMITY ALERT!

SHUTUP! I KNOW! I-AAAAAAHHHHHH!

signal lost

 

 

I Love Hearing From You. Drop Me A Line!

