Powers and abilities

Hi, folks! Welcome or welcome back, whatever the case may be.

It may seem like I don’t like being a “superhero” (with such optimistic previous posts I don’t know who could get that idea). But the fact is that I do like helping people. And being an Empowered hero isn’t so bad. I’m part of a (relatively) small club: those who have powers and abilities beyond most mortals.

I’ve mentioned that I’m kind of low on the power scale when measuring against other supers. I can’t fly or shoot laser beams out of any part of my body. I can’t lift a jumbo jet or aircraft carrier (at most I can pick up a VW Beetle-which makes me the guy getting sand kicked in his face of the powered set).

I can, however, see in the dark. Which might not seem like much, until you remember that I mostly fight creatures that use the cover of darkness to perpetrate their atrocities. I can also purge people of disease or injury, although I have a limit of only a few times a day. I can tell when you’re lying (benefit to having a patron who is a “god” of truth).

The flipside to that is I can’t lie, either.

That may not seem like a big deal, but try going on a date with someone who is the least bit insecure about some flaw and have them ask you about it. Most people don’t realize just how many “little white lies” we use to get through a day. Most people also think honesty is the best policy, but try telling them the unvarnished truth and see what happens. An introspective species humanity is not. Our lies, whether to others or ourselves, comfort us and allow us to cope. Or I should say “you” instead of “us” because I don’t get that comfort (and it’s also the reason I need an agent/publicist).

I mentioned the weapon that makes me an Empowered Champion, and it has a few abilities as well. As mentioned, the blade is hardened sunlight. Sharp as a vorpal sword (shout out to my D&D peeps), but only against unnatural creatures. Against norms I can use it more like a club (cuts down on my 187’s).

Oh, I can also increase the brightness of the blade, which is handy when facing things with a vulnerability to sunlight, and also use the light from the blade to see the invisible, be it creature or spell.

So my power set is not too shabby, but it does put me firmly in the “street level” category of heroing. I leave the cosmic stuff and world saving to the big boys and girls. My focus is more on saving the individual or stopping a menace to a neighborhood.

I like doing that. What I don’t like is the manipulations and politics that come from being an Empowered, but that is a topic for another post.

Douzeper

Next Time: Categories of Supers: I’m Okay – You’re Okay

I Love Hearing From You. Drop Me A Line!

